Founded and hosted 1985 through 1997 by Vi and Ned Coffin, then resumed from 2000 through 2006 and again revived in 2012, the Town House Forum has brought more than sixty luminaries to Strafford for readings and conversations, including playwright Arthur Miller, economist John Kenneth Galbraith, governors Madeline Kunin and Howard Dean, activist-authors Grace Paley and William Sloane Coffin, filmmaker John Sayles, poet Jane Hirshfield, novelists Russell Banks and Sue Miller, and five of Vermont’s Poet Laureates.

The Strafford Town House is one of the oldest meeting houses in Vermont, and it is listed on the National Register of Historic Places as part of the Strafford Village Historic District. Built in 1799 by local carpenters, it was created as a place to do public business and served for a brief period in the early days as a meeting house for various religious denominations. Strafford’s annual Town Meeting has been held in this building every year since 1801.  (from The Town of Strafford, VT)

Comments are closed